Open Alternative Views of Statue


Map of the North of Ireland [] Open Enlarged Version The Scots-Irish migrants who left Ulster in 1718 hailed from two particular districts in County Londonderry. The first group were from the Bann Valley area north of Garvagh and Kilrea, which included the parishes of Aghadowey, Macosquin, Kilrea, Dunboe, and Ballywillin. The second group came from the Foyle Valley area including the Laggan of co. Donegal and parts of counties Londonderry and Tyrone, north of Strabane.

The Diamond, Coleraine, reproduced from a Christmas Card used by Coleraine Borough Council Open Enlarged Version This geographical division allegedly continued to some extent when the settlers disembarked in Boston: the Bann group headed for the frontiers of Maine and New Hampshire, while the Foyle group made for Massachusetts.


back to top